A version of me

There is this version of me that I have in my head and it only exists in my head. I read some lines a few days ago (I can’t seem to find them right now), that how different people perceive you differently and every individual has a different version of you in their head.

Some of my friends have this image of me in their head that isn’t me. It’s not about being slightly different because I know they don’t know me like I know myself but I feel like it’s not me at all. I tried to change their perception but I guess people only see what they want to see. I will always be the same person they constructed in their heads.

It’s not even about friends or close people, I guess it’s with everyone, usually people have this image of the version they think you are. It’s just like a first impression and then it stays there. This makes first impressions even more important. This makes me wonder how many people actually know the real me. How many fake versions, of different people, do I have in my head?

I really want people to see the real me, to show them the actual version of myself so that I don’t have to keep pretending 24/7 but I don’t know how to. I have tried everything but nothing seems to work. I am going to start college soon and I know I have a real chance to change now. If only I could stop thinking and start doing something.


Life update: I got a haircut! I feel like it’s the kind of haircut that shout I am still a teenager and young (although I wasn’t aiming for this, you see this type of haircut in throwback pictures and high school movies but it’s just hair. They will grow back, right?

28 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This is really interesting to think about. I’d love to know how other people view me – I think it would help a lot with self-confidence and in identifying areas of improvement. I guess this is what makes friendships and relationships in general even more special – the idea that only you can have one exactly like that because no one else sees them in the same way you do. And that’s pretty cool!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Makes me wish we could read people’s minds, though. That would be super cool!
    On a side note, I think you are doing great on your blog!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oscar Wilde said: “Be Yourself. Everyone else is taken.” No one else on the planet, ever before nor ever again, will be as unique as you. Be your best self – there’s lots of power behind you. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. This is one interesting post, thanks for sharing and you know what, it’s weird you should say it but i too remember reading it somewhere recently so must have been a wp post😎

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This is very true. I feel like you need to stick to being you though, and not try to be who people expect or assume that you are. With time, I think that they’d learn to have a better perception of who you really are. Great post! ❤😊

    Liked by 2 people

  6. This was an extremely interesting post. I think people often see what they want and not what is really in front of them. As I have gotten older (not that I am old yet) I focus on just being me and other people’s opinion do not matter as much. I think you should just remain being who you are!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Hey this is a really interesting thought! It is honestly true though. Everyone knows as someone different. From our friends, teachers, relatives to passers by, we are a different someone from who we actually are. It’s funny as well as beautiful. It’s lovely of you to share This!! ❤❤

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I love long hair. It’s like – they define you. Who invented those scissors and razor blades? I still hope he’d had a better life. Some boys too, don’t like a haircut. It’s done just to satisfy the people’s needs, to keep us decent and smart. I still don’t get it. Are long haired boys not decent enough to live a happy college life? I don’t think so.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Hi. Thanks for popping by my blog about food, cooking and travel. I’ve enjoyed reading your post and following back. This is a really interesting post, and I think it’s the same with lots of other people. But just be yourself, and those who really listen and see will see the real you, and appreciate the person you are. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Stop thinking and start living… We spend too much time thinking of what people think of us… We know the good and bad… Analyze yourself, keep on the good and positive. Live free and live right.

    All you can be is yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Great post. There is the thought that “perception is reality”. That is seldom the case. Every person has a story within them. We only need to take the time to read it. And the time to try to understand.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Well written and interesting post and here’s an entertaining quote related to you being you – “Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.” – Judy Garland

    Thank you for following BrewNSpew. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Anyone can’t change anyone’s view about him/her. If you’re not like them, they think you’re not good the way you are. Don’t focus on them. You have your own mind nd views to focus. 🙂❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment